Although it is generally not recommended to open in Illustrator a PDF generated, for example, from InDesign or QuarkXPress, or simply generated from Illustrator but saved as PDF/X, we eventually end doing it at some point when the source file is not available and we simply want to pick up some graphic assets to reuse in a new design work. We can notice then that the paragraphs are always split into several left-aligned point texts, that some characters originally affected by an horizontal scale in the source file appear affected by an inverse vertical scale and a different point size, that some characters, especially dingbats, sometimes turn out converted to outlines, etc. This extension for Illustrator CC+ (html5 panel not compatible with old CS versions), baptized «Text rebuild tools», gathers a few functions, some of them already published here as separate jsx scripts, to help recreate and rebuild editable lines/paragraphs/stories from these items.

Javascript Adobe IllustratorYou may have ever noticed, when opening in Illustrator a PDF file generated for example from InDesign, that some characters affected by an horizontal scale in the indd source file become affected by an inverse vertical scale and a different point size (that phenomenon seems to occur only in the case of characters manually condensed using an horizontal scale below 100%, and not in the case of manually extended characters). For example, some text with size 20pt and a 80% horizontal scale ends up with a size of 16pt with a 125% vertical scale, with a visually identical result. In the case of a 90% horizontal scale the inverse result is a 111.1111111111111…% vertical scale, rather inconvenient rational number.

Javascript Adobe Illustrator

When you open in Illustrator a PDF file generated from InDesign or QuarkXPress, you certainly noticed that the paragraphs are always split into several text frames, at least one for each text line but often you even see multiple contiguous text frames on the same line. If you do not have available the source file and you want to be able to edit the text from the PDF using Illustator, it is more convenient to have one single text frame with several lines, where you can then insert or delete words or whole lines, modify the leading, alignment, kerning, tracking, etc.

As i promised you in my first article "Fit a text to an outline", here is a script that will enable you to merge text parts together to get multi-line text frames.

aiSomeone provided you with a file (such as ai, pdf, eps) and you are now asked to edit a text line in it using Illustrator, but unfortunately this text has been converted to outlines sad

 

If you have ever been through this before, you know that you have to cope with some difficulties to get to it : identify the font, get it (legally !) and load it, if this font is not already in your system or font manager, and finally recreate the text with exactly the same typeface size and horizontal scale.
This simple script without any dialog box nor option will help you to accomplish the last step by enabling you to fit exactly the text to the bounds of a vector object. For example you type and format with the needed font the first letter of the text you want to recreate, you select both the text and the corresponding outline and the script fits the text to the outline.

Follow Scriptopedia to Social Network

Scriptopedia sur facebook

About Scriptopedia.org

An original idea from Loic Aigon, designed by Eddy.VH. It 's a scripts library for Desktop Publishing Adobe products. Find Javascript for Photoshop, Illustrator, inDesign and Acrobat or ATN scripts ( Photoshop actions ) you need.

?Si vous avez déjà tenté de créer des GIF animés avec les outils d'Adobe, vous avez dû remarquer que ce processus n'est pas très linéaire. De nombreuses vidéos Youtube vous expliquent par le détail qu'il vous faut préparer vos images dans Illustrator, les exporter sous forme d'image et enfin procéder à toute l'animation dans Photoshop. J'oubliais, il vous faudra également exporter le fichier. Bref, de multiples étapes qui sont d'autant plus ennuyeuses qu'en cas de modification d'une image clé, il faut tout recommencer. Mais tout cela appartient désormais au passé.

Bien qu’en principe il ne soit généralement pas recommandé d’ouvrir dans Illustrator un PDF généré par exemple à partir d’InDesign ou QuarkXPress, ou simplement généré à partir d’Illustrator mais enregistré en PDF/X, cela nous arrive forcément un jour ou l’autre quand on ne dispose pas du fichier natif et que l’on veut simplement y récupérer quelques éléments graphiques pour un nouveau travail de création. L’on remarque alors que les paragraphes y sont toujours fractionnés en plusieurs textes de point alignés à gauche, que des caractères qui avaient été affectés par une échelle horizontale dans le fichier natif se retrouvent affectés par une échelle verticale inverse et un corps différent, certains éléments de texte sont parfois vectorisés notamment ceux de type dingbats, etc. Cette extension pour Illustrator CC+ (panneau html5 non compatible avec les anciennes versions CS) baptisée « Text rebuild tools », rassemble plusieurs fonctions, dont quelques unes déjà publiées ici sous forme de scripts jsx distincts, aidant à la recomposition et la reconstruction de lignes/paragraphes/articles de texte modifiable à partir de ces éléments de base.

Javascript Adobe IllustratorIl vous est peut-être déjà arrivé, en ouvrant dans Illustrator un pdf généré par exemple à partir d’InDesign, de remarquer que des caractères qui avaient été affectés par une échelle horizontale dans le fichier natif indd se retrouvent affectés par une échelle verticale inverse et un corps différent (ce phénomène semble se produire uniquement dans le cas d’une étroitisation par une échelle horizontale inférieure à 100 % dans le fichier natif et pas dans le cas d’un élargissement). Par exemple du texte en corps 20 pt avec une échelle horizontale de 80 % se retrouve en corps 16 pt avec une échelle verticale de 125 %, le résultat étant visuellement le même. Dans le cas d’une échelle horizontale de 90 % le résultat inverse est une échelle verticale de 111,1111111111111… %, nombre rationnel peu commode.

Javascript Adobe Illustrator

Lorsque vous ouvrez dans Illustrator un PDF généré par InDesign ou QuarkXPress, vous avez déjà dû remarquer que les paragraphes sont toujours fractionnés en plusieurs tracés de texte, au minimum un pour chaque ligne de texte mais souvent on a même plusieurs tracés de texte contigus pour la même ligne. Si l'on ne dispose pas du fichier natif et que l'on veut pouvoir éditer le texte dans Illustrator à partir du PDF, il est plus commode d'avoir un seul objet texte de plusieurs lignes où l'on peut insérer ou supprimer des mots voire des lignes entières, modifier l'interlignage, la justification, le crénage, l'approche, etc.

Comme je vous l'avais promis dans mon premier article "Ajuster le texte au tracé" voici un script qui vous permettra de réassembler des fragments de texte pour obtenir des objets textes de plusieurs lignes.

Suivez Scriptopedia.org

feed-image Suivez Scriptopedia.org

Scriptopedia sur facebook

Divers

À propos de Scriptopedia.org

Une idée de Loic Aigon mis en page par Eddy.VH se veut être une bibliothèque de scripts pour les produits Adobe orientés PAO. Vous y trouverez des scripts de type JavaScript pour Photoshop, Illustrator, inDesign et Acrobat et de type ATN ( Actions pour Photoshop ).